Brooklyn Neighborhood Undergoes Change

I grew up in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn. It’s mainly a residential neighborhood formerly dominated by an Italian community. Some residents even say it used to be very safe because the mafia lived here. I don’t know if that’s true, but what I have noticed is that the demographics have changed. I spoke to other residents in the area about Bensonhurst including the co-owner of the famed restaurant Spumoni Gardens, visited by the likes of James Gandolfini and former Mayor Giuliani.

I had some audio problems with the interview with the Spumoni Gardens co-owner. There was too much background noise. I needed to hold the microphone closer to the man’s face. I didn’t realize it until I sat down to edit the footage. I wanted to do a profile of the Spumoni Gardens restaurant, but the botched audio ruled that out. Note to self: next time, check the audio!

Leave a Reply

